Boston Review
table of contents
new democracy forum
new fiction forum
rave reviews
writers’ guidelines
bookstore locator
literary links


Search this site or the web Powered by FreeFind

Site Web

About the Contributors

Jeremy C. Ahouse is a post-doctoral fellow with the Howard Hughes Medical Institute in Madison, WI. His interests include developmental genetics, immunology, and computation.

John Ashbery is the author of sixteen books of poems, most recently Can You Hear, Bird? A seventeenth,Wakefulness, will be published in April. He teaches at Bard College.

Calvin Bedient is a professor of English at UCLA. He has published books on T. S. Eliot, Robert Penn Warren, and others, and recent book of poems, Candy Necklace.

Robert C. Berwick is professor of computer science and engineering and is co-director of the Center for Computational and Biological Learning at MIT. His latest book, Cartesian Computation, will be published this fall.

Harold Bloom is Sterling Professor of Humanities at Yale University and Berg Professor of English at New York University. He is the author of more than twenty books, most recently The Western Canon and Omens of Millennium: The Gnosis of Angels, Dreams, and Resurrection.

Christopher Cahill is the author of a novel, Perfection, published in Paris by L'Age d'Homme. He edits The Recorder: The Journal of the American Irish Historical Society.

Edwin Frank has published poetry and criticism in a variety of periodicals, including The New York Review of Books, Bomb, and Grand Street.

Gerald Frug is the Samuel R. Rosenthal Professor of Law at Harvard Law School.

Paul Gediman is a writer living in New York City.

David Gewanter's first book of poems, In the Belly, was published last year. He teaches at Georgetown University.

Jorie Graham's most recent book of poems is The Errancy. In 1996, she was awarded the Pulitzer Prize for The Dream of the Unified Field: Selected Poems 1974-1994. She teaches at the University of Iowa's Writers' Workshop.

Joel Handler is Richard C. Maxwell Professor of Law at UCLA Law School, and author of Down From Bureaucracy: The Ambiguity of Privatization and Empowerment

Donald F. Kettl is director of the La Follette Institute of Public Affairs at the University of Wisconsin-Madison and director of the Brookings Institution Center for Public Management. He is the author of the forthcoming After the Reinvention.

David Lehman's most recent book of poems is Valentine Place. His critical study, The Last Avant-Garde: The Making of the New York School of Poets is forthcoming this year. He teaches at Bennington College and the New School for Social Research

Sanford Lewis is an attorney who provides strategic counsel on corporate accountability to environmental, community, and labor organizations. He directs the Good Neighbor Project for Sustainable Industries.

Theodore Lowi is the John L. Senior Professor of American Institutions at Cornell University. Among his many books are The End of Liberalism and The End of the Republican Era.

Jerry L. Mashaw is Sterling Professor of Law at Yale Law School. His books include Social Security: Beyond the Rhetoric of Crisis (edited with Theodore Marmor) and Greed, Chaos, and Governance: Using Public Choice to Improve Public Law.

Heather McHugh's most recent book is Hinge & Sign: Poems 1968-1993. From January to June, she is Milliman Writer-in-Residence at the University of Washington at Seattle.

Lynn Melnick recieved her MFA from Columbia University in the fall of 1997. She has
poems forthcoming in The Paris Review.

Alicia Rabins is a senior at Barnard College, where she studies English and music.

Claudia Rankine is author of Nothing in Nature is Private and The End of the Alphabet, forthcoming this fall. She teaches at Barnard College.

Norberto Luis Romero is the author of the short story collections Transgresiones (winner of the Noega Award), Cradlesong for a Housefly, and The Moment of the Unicorn, and of a novel, Signs of Decomposition. His The Arrival of Autumn in Constantinople will be published in H. E. Francis's English translation this fall. H.E. Francis, winner of the Iowa School of Letters Award, is the author of several story collections, including the forthcoming The Sudden Trees.

Susan Rose-Ackerman is the Henry R. Luce Professor of Law and Political Science at Yale University. She is the author of Rethinking the Progressive Agenda and of the forthcoming
Corruption and Good Government: Causes, Consequences, and Strategies for Reform.

Charles F. Sabel is professor of law and social science at Columbia Law School. His books include the forthcoming Design, Deliberation, and Democracy.

Alan A. Stone is Touroff-Glueck Professor of Law and Psychiatry at Harvard Law School.

Max Winter's reviews have appeared in The New York Times Book Review and elsewhere; his poems have appeared or are forthcoming in The Paris Review, Boulevard, and Colorado Review.

Jane Yeh's poems have appeared in TriQuarterly and The Antioch Review. She received her MFA from the Iowa Writers' Workshop.

Copyright Boston Review, 1993–2005. All rights reserved. Please do not reproduce without permission.

 | home | new democracy forum | fiction, film, poetry | archives | masthead | subscribe |